Posted by: Cat | September 15, 2009

It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year…

Well, kids, it’s that time again. September has come, and we all know what that means.

It’s been a rough off-season for some of us. Dave Tippett got fired, Marc Crawford got hired. Sergei Zubov decided to go play in Russia. I’m sure there’s more, that I’ve just forgotten – I take the off-season to be “real life time”, which for me, means lots of Warcraft, hanging out with friends, taking trips, etc. I went on my excellent Midwest road trip, which meant heading up to Minnesota again. I saw three HLOG gals – Kirsten, Steph, and Bethany. We actually didn’t talk much hockey, as it was June/early July. We mostly just fished (Kirsten), drank (Steph), and were dorks (Bethany). I’ve also taken the liberty of introducing my boyfriend to hockey – he’s a California boy, and didn’t live near any of the California teams before moving to Texas. This is good, because it means he’s untainted and I can make him a Stars fan.

At any rate, this isn’t “What I Did Last Summer”, this is a sentimental hockey post. This past Saturday, the Boy, Jen, and I all went to the “unofficial/official” practice. The Boy found it interesting and, he says, invigorating and exciting. This is probably a good omen for our relationship. Me…Well, it’s the same thing for me every time. I avoid going skating, going to the rink, listening to the same music I do, all of it – I like for September to be like the first day of high school, where everything is fresh and new. They remodeled the Dr. Pepper StarCenter in Frisco over the summer, so it really was very new. I was damn near skipping when I walked in, and smelled THAT smell. You know what I’m talking about – the smell of new jerseys, and fresh ice.

I don’t want to talk too much in the “season preview” sort of way, I’m planning on saving that for a few days before opening day. I’m heading to camp in the morning, with the Boy and our friend Courtney in tow. It’s shaping up to be an optimistic start to the new season.

Leave a Reply

Categories

