Posted by: Cat | November 16, 2008

It’s official.

It’s official.  Sydor for Boucher.  I just woke up (yeah, it’s noon – so what?  It’s also Sunday.), so pardon my only semicoherent thoughts on this one.

I’ll admit it – my first thought was “Hmm.  Wonder if Niskanen changes his number for Syd.”  Not the most insightful thought, certainly, but still an odd one.  Will Niskanen go back to wearing 15, like he did in high school and college?  Or will Syd take 55 or something like that?  Who knows.  I guess we’ll find out soon enough.

I haven’t really fully processed this information (running on about 4 hours of sleep and all).  I do know that I want to wish Philippe Boucher the best in Pittsburgh – hey, you’re on a contender now, Boo-Boo!

I also wanted to share this with you, from the Stanley Cup Finals in 2000.  No one can say that Sydor won’t bring this team heart:

Responses

  1. Nisky is safe. Now you can sleep easy.

  2. Eh, I’m not sure he’s safe. Then again, you know me. I’m one of those people who’s like “OH MY GOD, WHAT IS HAPPENING, I MUST SPECULATE ABOUT EVERYTHING”. I already entertained possibilities of Boucher being traded, so it wasn’t a total shock. I never thought it would be for Sydor, though.

  3. Cat, I don’t think ANYONE thought it would be for Sydor. I don’t think anyone expected him to come back for a third go.

    That video just about breaks my heart, seeing him so in pain and so determined to keep helping his team. Talk about showing real passion.

  4. That video is what I show people when they tell me that hockey is a lame sport or whatever. I don’t see athletes in any other sport doing anything like that…Then again, I don’t really spend TOO much time watching other sports.

  5. I like you posts on Niski AKA Happy Meal. You know, he is a Finn. Back in V-Town they called him the “Flying Finn.” He’s a great kid. My daughter loves him. She posts about him on her blog. My son played hockey w/him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

