Posted by: Cat | August 7, 2008

100 Facts (Part yksi)

GOD, the off-season is boring. So here you go, 100 facts about me, part one. Or “yksi”, if you’re Finnish. I’m posting in increments of 25, so…There you go. Learn more about me, your humble blogger, behind the jump.

1) My name is Catherine, but no one actually calls me that, not even my parents. My grandparents call me “Katie”, which I hate. The name is Cat. Simple.

2) I don’t really like shopping. There are days when I think “Hmm, I’m going to go buy some cute shoes” or “I’m gonna go buy a cute outfit”, but for the most part, I’d rather go to Half-Price Books or Guitar Center.

3) I read. A lot. I have well over 200 books in my apartment, plus another 150 or so in storage at my dad’s house. I’ve read them all, some multiple times. It’s hard for me to walk into a bookstore and not spend at least $50.

4) I’m a musician. I’m not particularly good, but I’ve been playing piano since I was 5, flute since I was 9, picked up drums at 11, guitar at 12, bass guitar at 17. I recently purchased a violin that I’m pretty intent on learning how to play. I’m self-taught on everything except piano and flute.

5) I’m also a songwriter. Again, not very good, but I’ve been singing since I was a kid.

6) My not-so-secret dream is to be on Broadway. I often play musicals in my apartment, and act like I’m on stage. It might be kind of kid-like and lame, but I don’t care, because it’s fun.

7) If I can’t be on Broadway, I’d take being a rock star, or something like it. I would love to perform my music for people – if it were better, that is.

8) I often get really pissed off that I wasn’t given artistic ability. Yeah, I can sing pretty well (I wanted to say “really well”, but that sounds cocky), I can pretty much pick up any instrument and learn how to play “Mary Had A Little Lamb” in about an hour (assuming I’ve never touched the instrument before), and I’m a decent writer, but something about sitting in a park with a sketchpad is really appealing to me.

9) That said, I did go to art school for four months. I quit because my teachers were assholes. Also, I realized that advertising design is kind of not the right path for me.

10) I am an only child, and I love it.

11) My parents divorced when I was about 13, and I’ve only recently struck up a really awesome relationship with my mother. I was always closer to my dad, but things have changed and now I can talk to my mom far more easily than I can talk to my dad, at least about most things. Also, my mother seems to be more supportive of my random dreams, like wanting to learn to play every instrument ever and singing and stuff. I get the feeling my dad thinks it’s frivolous or something.

12) I’ve always harbored this secret dream of being a stand-up comedian. While I think I’m kind of funny, it mostly works best in conversation, rather than telling stories. I think I could do it if I focused hard enough, though.

13) I am biracial – half Korean, half European Mutt (my dad’s like, English, German, Scottish, and Irish). I struggled with that for a really long time. I went to a Korean church when I was a kid, and I was one of three white kids (even though I was half, the other two were straight up white), and at my school, I didn’t fit in either.

14) I’m not religious. At all. I’m okay with it, everyone I know is okay with it, and I don’t talk about it with many of them.

15) Another thing I don’t talk about is politics. Ever. Except sometimes with my dad, which is tough because of our differing views on certain things.

16) I’ve never been in love. There was a time when I thought I was, then I realized I was just 17 and stupid. I still want to kick that guy’s ass, though.

17) I’m a fighter. Not really, but I’ve gotten in my fair share of fights, and I’ve won them all. I used to take tae kwon do as a kid, and I remember a lot of it. Plus, you know, I watch lots of Buffy.

18) I’m a TV-on-DVD fanatic. It’s hard for me to just sit around with no sound, so I always either have music playing, or a familiar TV show on in the background. I recently finished watching the entire series of Buffy in like, three weeks. Now, did I focus on all the episodes? No, because I can recite all the dialogue, so I don’t have to pay attention.

19) I messed up a lot in high school. I barely graduated, despite being pretty smart. I think my GPA was something like a 2.8. I did a lot of drugs, drank a lot, and basically really fucked up, but I’m okay with that – I wouldn’t be who I am without any of that.

20) I don’t like regretting things. Naturally, there are things that I regret NOT doing, but I try not to regret anything I’ve done. Like I said, I wouldn’t be who I am if I hadn’t done it.

21) I’m nostalgic. I’ve kept every note put in my locker or passed in class, and occasionally I read them. Also, I have my journals from the age of 11 on. The only thing I don’t have are song lyrics, and that’s only because I’m so harshly critical of myself that I burned them.

22) I’m a total video game nerd. I’ve played (and beaten) every single Final Fantasy game (except 11, since it’s online, and 12, because I’m not the hugest fan of it), Earthbound is my favorite game ever, and I will kick your ass at Super Mario Kart. Jen wins Mario Kart Double Dash most of the time though.

23) Speaking of being a video game nerd, I worked at GameStop for about two months. I quit because I got really tired of guys coming in trying to test my knowledge. Other jobs I’ve held include cashier at a grocery store, sales associate at Express, administrative assistant, educator at the zoo, working at a vet clinic, cocktail waitressing, sales associate at a nursery (the kind with flowers, obviously), and now, music teacher.

24) Going back to that whole “guys testing my knowledge”, I’m really tired of guys who think they know more about traditionally masculine things, just because I’m a girl. It’s not unfeminine to like video games or sports, but for some reason my breasts go completely ignored when that comes up.

25) I haven’t dated anyone since I was 17. I’m 23 now. I’ve gone on random dates, sure, but I’m content being single right now. I’ve seen too many people become dependent on their relationships, and I was always determined that that wouldn’t be me. A relationship, at this point, would be like the sprinkles on top of a cupcake – nice, but not necessary.

Responses

  1. Yay! Another list! I love the Finnish. Finns are pretty cool people… ;)

    If I were to start a HLOG fantasy football league, would you play? Pretty please?

  2. I would totally play!

  3. Whoa! Girls playing fantasy football? I’m not sure that is allowed, ladies! :P

    You are being very wise on the whole relationship issue. Enjoy life and continue becoming the person you were meant to be before committing to someone. These can be some of the best years of your life. Hub and I were older than the “traditional” couple by the time we met and married. I’ve never regretted the time I had living on my own.

  4. Dude, remember when I said we’re twins? I am the exact same way on these numbers – –

    3, 4, 8, 10-19, 24-25.

    Oh! And I am totally calling you out on Mario Kart. :P


Leave a Reply

Categories

