Posted by: Caitlin | March 15, 2008

A Small Problem

Look, I haven’t been watching much hockey recently.

As some of you know, I developed the flu literally overnight and the flu escalated quickly into a horrible case of pneumonia. An emergency care clinic visit and tons of medication later, I’m still feeling like half of me is under whatever Mack truck hit me, but significantly better than I was. Begging to be put down with a shotgun means you really don’t feel good.

What’s going on, Stars? I’ve missed two games, now three, and you’re blowing it. Even worse, poor Robi got injured! (Canuck who did that, you’re on notice, good sir.) The Red Wings I get. They worship at the altar of Beezlebub the Unmerciful Dark Prince of All That is Evil, so, you know. Fighting the armies of Satan is tough for anyone. The Canucks? Seriously? Come on guys, if you want to win in the playoffs, this is not that inspiring.

Add in the fact that we’re in the depths of the dreaded March hockey, the hockey that sucks the very soul out of the most passionate of fans, the last gasp of hockey that precedes the playoffs and you’re not making me feel much better here.

I know the ranks are decimated; I know Zubov and Boucher are out with injuries and that a fledgling defensecorps are struggingling to get the job done. I know that we sold off three good players who had nice chemistry in the locker room and added in a dude who’s like BF4EVA with LeCavalier and some dude that looks like a creepier Swedish version of Clay Aiken, but you gotta come through.

This is the time to be tough — to be scary — and you’re just not getting the job done.

It’s not inspiring a lot of confidence, guys.

It’s not inspiring me to think that we could make it past the first round of the playoffs for once.

For God’s sake, just fix it.

Responses

  1. Ack! What’s going on with them? What a disheartening game.

    Sorry you’re so sick! Hope you’re back to normal again soon.

  2. First of all, I hope you feel better soon – the flu? NO FUN.

    Secondly, I was totally going to write an entry about the Stars and how they’re blowing now, but you put everything into words for me. Thank you, because I really didn’t want to think about it too much. I’m hoping they’ll totally surprise us soon by going on a million game winning streak or something, but I’m not exactly holding my breath.

  3. Nisky seems to be back. That’s about all I know.

    I hope you get feeling better!

  4. It certainly does not make thing easy with Our Stars losing like this . It is hard to take .
    I think you hit the nail on the head when you said they need to be scary . They need scary Russian and his alligator back .

  5. We might not be so bad if they wouldn’t put the 2 worst d-men on the ice together.

  6. Jen–ain’t that the truth!!!

    Caitlin–pneumonia, YIKES! Hope you are better quickly. Miss your live game blogs. Although if you did a live game blog while still on serious meds it might make the game a whole lot more fun then they have been!

  7. Thanks to everyone for the well-wishes on feeling better. I’m back to work and vertical, so good times. :D

    they’ll totally surprise us soon by going on a million game winning streak or something, but I’m not exactly holding my breath.

    Well, you never know. We are playing Anaheim and we have a decent record against them… *knock on wood*

    They need scary Russian and his alligator back .

    Wooo! Scary Russian (minus the alligator) got nominated for the Masterson! Man, those professional sports writers better watch out!

    Word to Jen. Norstrom is the BANE OF MY EXISTENCE. (Sorry, Matty.)

    Miss your live game blogs.

    I’ll probably do another one here soon, since I’m unable to do the “Read More” cut on Blogger correctly and they get pretty lengthy. Maybe the Anaheim game? Whooooo knows.


Leave a Reply

Categories

