Posted by: Cat | January 7, 2008

Damn This New Obsession

I shouldn’t have done it. I really shouldn’t have. But the box was sitting there, calling to me. “Cat! Purchase me! I have 12 packages of hockey cards inside me waiting to be opened! Besides, you have hockey-loving friends with you! Don’t you think they might want some hockey cards?”

Damn you, Upper Deck Series 1 Box On the Shelf At Target. Damn you.

I can see myself getting way into this. And by “way into this”, I mean “buy a box of cards maybe twice a month, for the hell of it”. It’s like the lottery. You don’t know if you’ll win, but you definitely won’t if you don’t try. It certainly doesn’t help that the first box of hockey cards I ever purchased contained the Untypical Girls favorite players – Mike Smith, Brenden Morrow, and Sergei Zubov. The only Stars cards in the box, and they happened to be those three. I was astounded. ASTOUNDED.

The problem? I have nothing to do with the other cards. I’ll keep the Flames cards, because I like the Flames, and I’d probably keep some other players and teams if I stumbled across them, but for the most part I just want the Stars ones. So, um, anyone have any hockey card requests? I can fulfill them to the best of my ability. I’m not even kidding a little bit, either, y’all. This stack of cards needs to go.

Responses

  1. Stupid cards. Yet another form of hockey heroin. Just what I need!

    I still can’t believe the second pack I opened had Zubov in it. I mean…what are the chances?

  2. Dude, I cannot believe that we got Zubov, Morrow, and Smith. It’s just so WEIRD. Fate, I’m telling you.

  3. You’re too cute, Cat

  4. Damn you, Upper Deck Series 1 Box On the Shelf At Target

    Hahah, I have the same problem every time I go into Target. Two seasons ago I bought the Upper Deck Rookie Class Series…not cause it’s actually worth anything, but because I just really wanted to have a guaranteed Crosby, Ovie, and Phaneuf card.

  5. kms, I swear to god I’m going to buy Upper Deck Series 1 cards until I find a Matt Niskanen card in there somewhere. I KNOW he’s in Series 1 – I looked it up! Now I just have to FIND him.

  6. Clearly the hockey card gods love you guys.

    I love hockey cards. I still have a shoebox full of them under my bed, and I bought some more the other day.

  7. After all that talk on IPB about cards, I bought a pack. But I didn’t know which kind to get, so I got a double-pack of Fleer. I should have gotten the Upper Deck, I see.

    I have a couple of Flames if you want them, but no Stars. (Kipper and Daymond Langkow.)

    I did get a Sidney Crosby All-Star card with the Dallas All-Star logo on it. So I might keep that one.

    If I develop a problem, I’ll be blaming y’all. :D

  8. Upper Deck is the way to go, Patty. Also, I’ll TOTALLY take the Flames cards off your hands if you want them. I dropped you an email about bobblehead Lehtinen, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

