Posted by: Caitlin | December 17, 2007

And The Award Goes To….

Sun Media collected votes from players, coaches and various other people in the hockey industry to come up with a “Best of” list for this NHL season. You can find the entire list here (thanks to Heather B., an IPB Irregular, for the link). There were a couple of standouts, though. By standouts, I mean that a few Stars players made the list…

BEST TRASH TALKER
1. Sean Avery
2. Darcy Tucker
3. (tie) Steve Ott and Brendan Shanahan

I knew Otter was a pest, but enough to tie with Shanahan and come in behind Tucker and Avery? ….Well played, Otter!

PLAYER YOU FEAR THE MOST IN A SHOOTOUT
1. Jussi Jokinen
2. Pavel Datsyuk
3. Sam Gagner

If Jokinen wasn’t on that list, I’d be very perplexed.

And while this is non-Stars related, I find the following highly amusing:

DIRTIEST PLAYER
1. Sean Avery
2. Chris Pronger
3. Jarkko Ruutu

I have no major feelings on Ruutu, as I don’t see him often enough, but my intense dislike of both Pronger and Avery feels oddly justified now. (As if it weren’t before…) I think one of the greatest moments I’ve ever had watching hockey was when Sergei Zubov chipped a puck straight into Sean Avery’s face. While I don’t like seeing anyone hurt, the idea that Avery at least had to stop yammering his head off for a few minutes was enormously gratifying.

Speaking of Sean Avery, under the category of “IF I WAS NHL COMMISSIONER FOR A DAY, I’D….”

To the player who answered “Suspend Sean Avery….forever”, I’d just like to say that we should be BFF, totally.

(Cross posted to Hockey Coma.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

