Posted by: Caitlin | November 5, 2007

I Don’t Hate You, Eriksson. I Promise.

I really don’t hate Loui Eriksson.

I’m just really mad at him right now. For someone with an awful lot of potential, he looks really wasted out there on the ice at the moment.

Normally, I try to inject a little humor into my posts. I don’t think I can manage that right now. Sitting in my seat Friday night at the American Airlines Center sucked all the humor right out of me on the subject of Eriksson.

I know Loui Eriksson is a very talented player, and from what I’ve heard (and what I’ve seen) an all-around nice guy. I don’t think it’s a bad thing to say that he needs to go back to Iowa to refine his game a little more. I don’t know what’s going on with him, but a little time in the minors couldn’t hurt his game any, in my opinion.

I wasn’t really mad until Conner got called up. Believe me, all the Untypical Girls practically danced when they heard Conner was getting called up from Iowa. I actually did dance a little, and I was in my car on I-30 in rush hour traffic, which is more than a little dangerous, but I sincerely couldn’t help it. Then I was told who they sent down to Iowa in Conner’s place.

Joel Lundqvist, as we all now know.

My problem is this: Eriksson has produced exactly one assist this season in six games played. It’s a little early in the season to judge, but I watched this guy through preseason and now in the regular season and I see a guy who’s struggling terribly. Lundqvist had some bobbles here and there but he looked good and looked like he was improving every game.

Mittens, who is everyone’s favorite target these days, has steadily improved. While he’s still not producing on the scoring, you can tell Mittens is really hustling on the ice, is getting good checks in and isn’t turning over the puck consistently. Eriksson, on the other hand, has turned over the puck more and more, can barely get a check in, falls on his own consistently and generally causes me to have my head in my hands by the end of his shift. I have seen zero improvement from Eriksson, where as Lundqvist and Mittens have both steadily improved in my opinion.

What mystifies me is how this decision was made. Granted, I’m not a hockey coach, and I don’t like necessarily being an ‘armchair coach’, but this pretty much confuses me. Lundqvist was doing much better than Eriksson. Are we all really so into Eriksson that we’re going to give him eight million more chances than we would any other player?

Normally, I loathe stats a little, as I think some of them are a bad indication of how a player is really playing (the +/- stat is the one that comes to the forefront of my mind). But Eriksson’s made me wince a little – 4 penalty minutes with 1 assist, seven shots on goal with six games played.

That’s the problem. He’s not doing anything good or bad. He’s just a warm body on the ice. A warm body that likes to give the puck away to players not wearing Stars jerseys.

I don’t hate him; I just want the Stars to FedEx that warm body back to Iowa. Work on it, Eriksson, and come back in a year.

Responses

  1. Practically danced? I was jumping up and down, dancing, and cheering/screaming.

    The decision to send Lundqvist to minors, and keep Eriksson here, was just ridiculous to me. That’s right, Stars, send the guy with 2 goals and 2 assists to minors, and keep the kid with 1 assist. Eriksson might have potential, but Lundqvist is more successful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

